A Little Act of Kindness

Just a little act of kindness and love can power the souls of the deprived for hours or days or weeks or months or even years. A little mercy here and there can set on a path of liberty the anguished souls.

When last did you take a look at the neighbors next to you and show some kindness? When last did you lift up your heads and behold that brother or sister beside you who is going through so much pain? Where has the love gone to? Why have we become so deeply engrossed in our own world that we so neglect the brotherly love? Why have we so neglected our First Love? We all clamour for survival. The whole world is inundated with information overload. We are burdened with challenges of the days, the survival of ourselves and our families. The pressure and pleasure of life. It is very daunting that we could hardly catch our breath in the hustle bustle of the days, weeks, months and years. The deafening noises of the streets, towns, cities, nations and continents. The sad news of famine and disease outbreak. The sound bites of the politicians. And the empty promises that dash our hopes and make our hearts sick. The wailing of the people under the harsh economic conditions. The increasing number of the homeless and jobless, of the hungry and sick. Who can deliver from all these?

In the midst of it all, we are all saddled with survival instincts. Human we are. For if we are perfect, we would have had no need for a Saviour. But, it does not make it right. I ponder upon these things and my heart aglowed with a solace in His Words. A heart of kindness!

Standing in a queue (on a very hot afternoon) waiting to use an ATM. There approached me a middle age woman saying gently, “Sir, why don’t you wait in the car? When it’s your turn I will come and call you”. I was shocked at such act of kindness. It has been long I saw or heard someone genuinely looking after the other. Maybe in the early days when many – infact multitudes – were rushing to God to be saved. I talk of the early 90’s. While I was still musing on the thought, I heard, “Sir, you could use the fast track inside the banking hall as this machine is not working”. Kindness. She wasn’t a bank staff. She came to use the machine like me, probably rushing for school run.

That kept me thinking for hours. It was a relieve that there is still someone out there looking over to see if other is fine. The question is: How many of us take a break from our self and show some kindness to the person next to us? Even if it doesn’t cost money.

My mind was flooded with thoughts on kindness and the reference points in the Word of God for days. Few days later, I found myself at a stadium where I had gone to walk around for exercise. While I sat down on the sidewalk, resting for a while, a gentleman started shouting from behind, “Excuse me! Excuse me!! Excuse me!!!” I turned to look at him and he asked, “Are you ok? Is everything alright?” I answered, “Yes”. Just imagine that! He probably thought (by sitting down alone on the floor) I had sustained an injury or something had happened to me. Imagine that curiosity and concern for the person next to him. Imagine the care for the life next to him! That is so sweet to think about! How we desperately need some human kindness!

How many people are out there that need a word, a show of love from us? How many people are going through so much that they just need someone to say, “It shall be well with you”? How many are out there that just need someone to say something nice to them? Where has kindness gone to? Are we looking out for our brothers and sisters?

My heart is filled with memories of kindness received in the past? I remember a sister of mine in the Lord (a head of our campus fellowship) that would go any length to assist anyone of us. For me, it was a different kind of kindness. You wouldn’t expect someone like her to have the time to look at details of helping someone like me, but she did. She got me my first interim job in the church office while I was waiting for the next step after graduating from a university. What about my dear Christian brothers that opened their doors to harbour me while I took on the cross of Jesus? So many acts of kindness. I can go on and on to recount all. They are all still alive doing great work for the Lord. I’m so glad they are still in the Lord, loving and serving the Lord. Seeing all these acts fired the love of God in my heart. I continue to do so as commanded of the Lord, even when it is painful to do so either in lack or in abundance.

When I thought through these I remember that one thing fired us all to commit to brotherly kindness and love – and that was what we were thought in the Book of Acts 4: 32 -34 that says, “Now the multitude of those who believed were of one heart and one soul; neither did anyone say that any of the things he possessed was his own, but they had all things in common. And with GREAT POWER the apostles gave witness to the resurrection of the Lord Jesus. And GREAT GRACE was upon them all. Nor was there anyone among them who lacked

Therein lie the secret of the great grace and great power that the early church operated in. If the World is not seeing the great power of our Lord, it is because the church is no longer doing what can access the GREAT POWER and GREAT GRACE from the Father. Check for yourself what made the Father to release that great grace and power upon them. The Father is the same yesterday, today and forever. When He sees our response to kindness to one another in love, He releases His Blessings, His Power, His Grace.

You may have all that you ever need to survive the economic woes on this earth, but remember that at the end of life journey you will give account of how you have spent the lifetime before God the Father. Like the rich fool, he delighted in the abundance of what he had accomplished and wished his soul abundant rest. But the Father thought otherwise and summoned him into eternal damnation. Luke 12: 13 – 21.

As a child of God, what do you have that you have not received from the Lord? The Word of God says in 1 Corinthians 4:7, “For who makes you differ from another? And what do you have that you did not receive? Now if you did indeed receive it, why do you boast as if you had not received it?” What position or wealth or substance or resources have you now that the Lord has not given you? Remember the Lord your God that has given you power to get all things. A little act of kindness and love to people around you will cause the Eternal Father to look upon you with great grace and power.

What you have within your power is the blessing that someone next to you have been praying for. The people in the dark world will go any length by reason of covenant to get help for their members; be it job placement, food, clothing, shelter etc. Why will the children of Light do contrary? The enemy has blinded the eyes of the children of Light to eternal Truth. The enemy has made many of us to become blind and deaf to the needs and crying of the people next to us. This is evil. Apostle Paul said in 1 Corinthians 13:1-3,

Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, but have not love, I have become sounding brass or a clanging cymbal. And though I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries and all knowledge, and though I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, but have not love, I am nothing. And though I bestow all my goods to feed the poor, and though I give my body to be burned, but have not love, it profits me nothing.”

It is a call to love. Like the popular saying, “You can give without love. But you can’t love without giving.” It is a call to His Love and Kindness. Another season to ask for His Love so that we can love the way He does. Let no man look upon others as though they are nothing. But with love and kindness, let him show mercy to the one next to him. Our form of godliness does not equate to the release of God’s Power. We cannot force Him to release His Power. He does at His Own Will. If the Church will not yield herself to demonstrate the same power as in the early days, the Father will raise for Himself new breed of people.

“I will raise a new people. A new generation of believers. I will refine the old ways and cause their feet to walk in my ways. I will send them new prophets. They shall proclaim my ways. They shall repair the old breaches. And cause a new holiness upon My People.” 

May the Lord bless us with His Grace to love and show kindness to mankind.

Amen.

Leave a Reply

